Contact Us

Slayer Performs With Only 2 Original Members Live At Soundwave [VIDEO]

For only the second time ever Slayer performed with only 2 original members at this years Soundwave Festival in Sydney, Australia.

Slayer had been in the news lately with announcement that drummer Dave Lombardo would be sitting out Slayer’s current tour due to contract issues. Guitarist Jeff Hanneman is still recovering from a flesh eating disease that may have been caused by a spider bite. Filling in for Dave Lombardo is Jon Dette of Testament and Anthrax while Gary Holt of Exodus is filling in for Jeff Hanneman.


In the music industry we see bands make all kind of lineup changes throughout their careers and what not, it is very rare to have a band that not only has staying power but keeps the same lineup. Now I am not talking about Jeff Hanneman having to step out because of an illness, I am talking about Dave Lombardo having to step out over contract issues which I think is foolish. Now everyone had the right to protect themselves for whatever reason but to not come to some sort of an agreement blows my mind.

Hopefully we can see a resolution to this situation but the lineup is set for now with Tom Araya on bass and vocals, Kerry King on guitar, Gary Holt on guitar and Jon Dette on drums.

Check out the entire Soundwave performance from Slayer with the new lineup.

Subscribe to KFMX FM on

Best of KFMX

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for THE BOMB SQUAD quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive THE BOMB SQUAD contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.