After a tough fight by Matt Kenseth today in Miami, Jimmie Johnson held on with a solid day to maintain the lead and clinch his sixth championship, his first since 2010. Denny Hamlin won his first race in over 40 races.

In a surprising effort, Dale Earnhardt Jr. showed the most heart in my opinion today, as he contended all afternoon long into the early evening hours. Junior would end up finishing in third.

Matt Kenseth came so close, finishing in the runner up spot, but it was quite enough to take the cake for the year. With a handful of wins on the year, there's some solace to be had here, but obviously the #20 camp is disappointed. Look for that team to be on point next year.

Speaking of next year, we'll kick things back off in February at the renowned Daytona International Speedway. Until then, enjoy football and basketball, my friends.