Slipknot vocalist Corey Taylor, percussionist Shawn ‘Clown’ Crahan, guitarist Jim Root and DJ Sid Wilson are planning to release an album together. Recorded during the All Hope is Gone sessions, the songs will finally see the light of day, as Clown reveals in a new interview.

One of the tracks intended for the Slipknot members’ side project was “Til We Die,” featured on the digipak release of All Hope Is Gone. That may hint at the direction of this currently unnamed endeavor, which Clown says wasn’t ready to fully pursue… until now.

"There’s a collection of songs that were recorded, 11 I think, I’ve held on to them for 10 years because it hasn’t been right, and I’m going to let you know now that it’s feeling right,” Clown tells Metal Hammer. "Is it Slipknot? No, it’s not Slipknot. Is it four members of Slipknot? Yes. It’s four members of Slipknot. Is it music being written at the same time as All Hope Is Gone? Absolutely.”

He continues, "There’s a big collection of music, it’s fucking really amazing. It’s so amazing it had to be held back to wait for the right time, it’s been 10 years. It wasn’t going to be one of those things to loosely go out and confuse everyone, and piss everyone off. I’m not going to put music out to spite people – we do things the right way in this camp. The right way is that sooner or later, people need to be made aware of it because it’s the truth. It happened. We spent time doing it, we worked it every day, we mixed it, we mastered it, there’s artwork. It’s amazing stuff. But it’s all got to be right in the story of Slipknot.”

No release details or rough plans have been announced, but with Slipknot gearing back up in 2019, we could see this new project be fueled by the Knot’s next cycle. Slipknot will, however, release their 10th anniversary edition of All Hope is Gone on Dec. 7.

2019’s Most Anticipated Hard Rock + Metal Albums

More From KFMX FM