In a lot of ways, Mac McClung has been everything you've wanted him to be. He's hit some big shots, he led the Red Raiders in scoring and he's brought national attention to the Red Raiders. McClung faded a bit down the stretch of the regular season but he did enough for the media who votes on the AP All-Big 12 honors to list him as a first-teamer. The only Red Raider to make either team announced this morning.

In the Big 12 awards voted on by the coaches, Cade Cunningham was listed as Player of the Year. The media opted for Baylor's best player, Jared Butler. That's certainly not a bad choice after helping the Bears win their first conference title. He averaged just over 17 points a game and led the conference in steals and was arguably the best three-point shooter.

McClung received Newcomer of the year from the Big 12 coaches, but that award was given to Cunningham, the star freshman from Oklahoma State. Baylor's Scott Drew won the AP's Big 12 Coach of the Year.

Joining McClung, Butler, and Cunningham on the first-team were Derek Culver from West Virginia and Austin Reaves from Oklahoma.

There were no Red Raiders on the second team. It consists of the Longhorn's Andrew Jones, Miles McBride from West Virginia, David McCormack of Kansas, as well as both Davion Mitchell and MaCio Teague from Baylor.

Baylor leads the way, unsurprisingly, with three selections. West Virginia had two, while Texas, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Kansas, and Texas Tech all got one into the teams.

How Many in America: From Guns to Ghost Towns

Can you take a guess as to how many public schools are in the U.S.? Do you have any clue as to how many billionaires might be residing there? Read on to find out—and learn a thing or two about each of these selection’s cultural significance and legacy along the way.




More From KFMX FM