KFMX FM logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Texas Tech newcomer Marcus Santos-Silva was honored with a preseason award as announced by the Big 12 this afternoon. The awards were voted on by the Big 12 head coaches. This is the second straight season a Red Raider has been named as the preseason newcomer of the year after Chris Clarke was honored last season.

Santos-Silva played his last three seasons at VCU before coming to Texas Tech as a graduate transfer. He led his former team in scoring, rebounding, and blocks last year and registered double-digit double-doubles in the COVID shortened season.

"It's an honor to get that recognition but I didn't come here for individual awards." Santos-Silva said in a press conference, "I came here to win the Big 12 and to win the National Championship. I'm more focused on team goals and success."

Coach Beard gushed about Santos-Silva and his leadership capabilities as the lone senior on the roster. Beard talked about trusting Santos-Silva and Santos-Silva trusting the coaching staff.

Jared Butler from Baylor was unanimously selected as the Big 12 preseason player of the year while Oklahoma State's Cade Cunningham was chosen as the Big 12 preseason freshman of the year.

Butler and Cunningham were also listed on the Preseason All-Big 12 team along with Marcus Garrett from Kansas, Austin Reaves from Oklahoma, Matt Coleman from Texas and Oscar Tshiebwe from West Virginia. There were six members because of a tie.

Both Mac McClung and Kyler Edwards from Texas Tech were listed as honorable mention players. McClung has yet to receive his waiver to be immediately eligible after playing at Georgetown his first two seasons and transferring to Texas Tech.

Here are your 2020-21 Texas Tech Red Raiders:

Chris Beard’s 8 Biggest Wins in the United Supermarkets Arena

The 8 Best Wins in the United Spirit Arena During the Chris Beard Era

More From KFMX FM